City Council

Monday 27 March 2023

PRESENT:

Councillor Dann, in the Chair.

Councillor Penberthy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Briars-Delve, Mrs Bridgeman, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Drean, Evans OBE, Finn, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Hulme, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, Dr Mahony, McDonald, McLay, Murphy, Nicholson, Noble, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Mrs Pengelly, Poyser, Reilly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tippetts, Tuffin, Tuohy, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Allen, Mrs Beer, Bingley, Mrs Bowyer, Darcy, Kelly and Vincent.

Absent: Councillors Deacon and Tofan.

The meeting started at 1.45 pm and finished at 2.07 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <u>www.plymouth.gov.uk</u>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

58. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Members in accordance with the code of conduct.

59. Freedom of the City

Councillor Mark Shayer (Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance and Economy) introduced the nomination of Lewis Pugh OIG and Heather Knight OBE to bestow the honour Freedom of the City. The motion was seconded by Councillor Tudor Evans OBE.

It was <u>agreed</u> that in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that, in appreciation of Lewis Pugh OIG and Heather Knight OBE's glorious achievements in the service of this country and of their long association with the City, the Council conferred the title of Freeman of the City to them both.

For (48)

Councillors Mrs Aspinall, Briars-Delve, Bridgeman, Carlyle, Churchill, Coker, Dr Cree, Cresswell, Dann, Drean, Evans OBE, Finn, Goslin, Harrison, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Hulme, Laing, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, Dr Mahony, McDonald, McLay, Murphy, Nicholson, Noble, Partridge, Patel, Penberthy, Pengelly, Poyser, Reilly, Rennie, Riley, Salmon, Shayer, Singh, Smith, Stevens, Stoneman, Tippetts, Tuffin, Tuohy, Wakeham, Ms Watkin and Wheeler.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (0)